Sunday, January 9, 2011

Chik Chak Ultimate Song Awards Presentation

This blog has recently returned from a six-month break, and it seems nothing has changed in the Hong Kong entertainment scene. While TVB recycles hit television series (see my previous post on 2010’s top rating shows), the same singers continue to dominate Hong Kong’s pop music awards shows.

Joey Yung celebrates - but mind you don't take an eye out with that!

Chik Chak 903 radio station held its Ultimate Song Awards Presentation 2010 on New Year’s Day, and the role of honour was almost identical to 2009’s list of winners. Joey Yung (容祖儿, pinyin: Róng Zǔér) was named Best Female Singer again, collecting the award for a record sixth time. And just like last year, she was toppled by actress/singer Miriam Yeung (杨千嬅, pinyin: Yáng Qiānhuà) in the Favourite Female Singer category. Both singers were also represented on Chik Chak’s Top Ten Songs of 2010: Joey Yung was at number 4 with Peach Blossom Adventure, and Miriam Yeung had the number 10 song, I Am I.

Eason Chan (陈奕迅, pinyin: Chén Yìxùn) continues to dominate the male section of Hong Kong singing awards. He repeated his success in 2009 to be named Best Male singer, and took home a total of five awards. He was also named Favourite Male Singer, had Album of the Year (Time Flies, 时日如飞) and Favourite Song (Tourbillon). Tourbillon was also on the list of Chik Chak’s Top Ten Songs.

There was a slight changing of the guard in the Groups category. Hip hop duo FAMA (农夫, pinyin: Nóng Fū) edged out last year’s winners RubberBand for the Best Group award, while RubberBand had to settle for Favourite Group award. RubberBand also had the number 1 song on the Chik Chak Top 10 with SimpleLoveSong. The 2009 winner of Favourite Group, Mr., didn’t go home empty-handed. Their song Black and White Fanatic was ranked number 2 in the Top 10 songs.

The Top 10 Songs of 2010 were:
1. RubberBand - Simple Love Song
2. Mr. - Black & White Fanatic (黑色狂迷)
3. Kay Tse - Fragile (脆弱)
4. Joey Yung - Peach Blossom Adventure (桃色冒险)
5. Eason Chan - Tourbillon (陀飞轮)
6. Pakho Chau - Homeless Prince (乞丐王子)
7. Endy Chow - Sometimes (有时)
8. Leo Ku - Era (时代)
9. Andy Hui - Forget Cannot Forget (忘了 忘不了)
10. Miriam Yeung - I Am I (我係我)

A full list of winners can be found here at the Kay's Entertainment site.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Site Meter