Saturday, November 28, 2009

Super Girls to the Fore at Global Chinese Music Awards

The 9th Global Chinese Music Awards (第九届全球华语歌曲排行榜颁奖典礼), organised by seven radio stations spanning the Chinese-speaking world, took place on November 19 at the Exhibition Centre Theatre in Beijing. There were awards for Most Popular Male and Female Singers - Singapore's JJ Lin (林俊杰, Lín Jùnjié) and 2005 Super Girl winner Li Yuchun (李宇春, pictured right). And just a week after their Mingpao Awards for Most Outstanding Singers, Hong Kong superstars Eason Chan (陈奕迅, pinyin: Chén Yixùn) and Joey Yung (容祖儿, pinyin: Róng Zǔér) again triumphed, taking out the Best Male and Female Singer Awards.

Most Popular Band was Taiwan's Sodagreen (苏打绿, pinyin: Sūdá lǜ), while the Most Popular Group award was shared by girl group S.H.E and histrionic duo Shui Mu Nian Hao (水木年华).

Two other former Super Girl contestants also fared well. Jane Zhang (张靓颖, pinyin: Zhāng Liàngyǐng), who finished third in the 2005 season, picked up the award for the Seven Stations Most Outstanding Singer, one of three awards she won. And the girl who finished just ahead of her in 2005, Bibi Zhou (周笔畅 , pinyin: Zhōu Bǐchàng - pictured left), won the Seven Stations Media Award and Best Performer Award.

Jane Zhang and Bibi Zhou also featured amongst the seven regional winners corresponding to the seven radio stations responsible for the awards. Jane Zhang won the Beijing award (even though she's a Sichuan native), and the Guangdong award went to Bibi Zhou. The Shanghai award went to another Sichuan native, Wezei Purba (浦巴甲, Pu Ba Jia), and the Hong Kong award was given to neither Eason Chan or Joey Yung but instead to Jason Chan (陈伯宇). The Taiwan prize was taken out by Sodagreen, Singapore's award went to JJ Lin, and Malaysia's was won by Manhand.

The Best Album Award was jointly won by three artists: Eason Chan for H3M, Wang Feng (汪峰) for Faith is in the Air, and Khalil Fong (方大同, pinyin: Fāng Dàtóng) for Orange Moon. The Best Duet Award was also shared amongst three acts, and a Top 20 singles list was also announced.
(Jane Zhang performing at the Global Chinese Music Awards)

A complete list of all the winners follows (an original Chinese source is here at the Sina portal).

Best Male Singer: Eason Chan
Best Female Singer: Joey Yung
Most Popular Male Singer: JJ Lin
Most Popular Female Singer: Li Yuchun
Most Popular Band: Sodagreen
Most Popular Group: S.H.E and Shui Mu Nian Hua
Most Popular Newcomer: Cong Haonan, BY2, Rachel Liang

Best Lyrics: Wang Feng, In Spring Days
Best Composer: Feng Hsuan, Bad Guys
Best Arranger: Sodagreen, Sunlight
Best Producer: Wang Feng, Faith is in the Air

Most Popular Singer-Songwriter: Hins Cheung, Khalil Fong, Chen Chusheng
Best Performer: Huang Xiaoming, Li Yuchun
Seven Stations Media Award: Bibi Zhou
Seven Stations Most Outstanding Singer: Jane Zhang

Best Album:
Faith is in the Air, Wang Feng
H3M, Eason Chan
Orange Moon, Khalil Fong

Most Popular Duets:
Little Dimples, Charlene Choi & JJ Lin
Good Man Card, Huang Xiaoming & Zhao Wei
Another Heaven, Wang Lee Hom & Jane Zhang

Most Outstanding Regional Singers
Beijing: Jane Zhang
Shanghai: Wezei Purba
Guangdong: Bibi Zhou
Hong Kong: Jason Chan
Taiwan: Sodagreen
Singapore: JJ Lin
Malaysia: Manhand

The Top 20 Songs
Jay Chou - Fragrant Rice (稻香)
Li Yuchun - Why Me
Khalil Fong - Song Written for You (为你写的歌)
Wang Lee Hom - Heart Beat (心跳)
Jane Zhang - Could That Be Love (那不会是爱吧)
Bibi Zhou - Your Love (你们的爱)
Eason Chang - Don't Speak (不要说话)
Jade Liu - Tears Smile (眼泪笑了)
Sodagreen - Sunlight (日光)
Wang Feng - In Spring Days (春天里)
Xue Ziqian - Deeply Loved You (深深爱过你)
Hins Cheung - Daytime (披星戴月)
Fish Leong - No Maybe (没有如果)
Charlene Choi - Two Missing One (二缺一)
Joey Yung - Sleeping With Butterflies (与蝶同眠)
Shui Mu Nian Hua - Departure (启程)
Wang Xiaokun - Fragment Song (残缺的歌)
Wezei Purba - Love is That Simple (爱就是那么简单)
Feng Hsuan - Bad Guys (坏人)
Wang Ziqian - One Person's World Afraid of Loneliness (一个人的世界害怕孤独)

[Photos courtesy of Cao-Ji China news agency]

No comments:

Post a Comment

Site Meter