Sunday, April 17, 2011

Jay Chou Wins Six at Golden Chart Awards

The inaugural Global Chinese Golden Chart Awards (全球流行音乐金榜) were held in Taipei on 9 April, and Taiwan superstar Jay Chou (周杰伦, pinyin: Zhōu Jiélún) was the biggest winner collecting six awards. The Golden Chart Awards were organised by several Chinese-language radio stations from around the world, including Taiwan, mainland China, the United States, Malaysia, Singapore and Australia.

Jay Chou's trophies included Favourite Male Singer and Outstanding Global Chinese Artist. His album, The Era ((跨时代), was also named Best Mandarin Album. Another big winner was Jay's former girlfriend and reigning Queen of Dance Music , Jolin Tsai (蔡依林, pinyin: Cài Yīlín), who collected four awards, including Favourite Female Singer and DJs Favourite Artist of the Year.

Best Male Singer went to Leehom Wang (王力宏, pinyin: Wáng Lìhóng), and Best Female Singer to Malaysia's "Queen of Love Songs", Fish Leong (梁静茹, pinyin: Liáng Jìngrú). Show Luo (罗志祥, pinyin: Luó Zhīxiáng) won awards for Best All-round Entertainer and also for his album Rashomon (罗生门) which won Album with the Longest Chart Run. Singapore's JJ Lin (林俊杰, Lín Jùnjié) was awarded Best Singer.

In the group awards, Taiwan's eight-member boy band Super Junior-M, an offshoot of the Korean boy band Super Junior, was awarded Most Popular Group. Best Band went to the indie band from Taiwan, Sodagreen (苏打绿, pinyin: Sūdá lǜ), while Best Group went to the three-piece girl group S.H.E. Former Super Junior-M band member Han Geng (韩庚), who released his debut solo album last year, was named Newcomer of the Year.

Over sixty trophies in 29 categories were handed out on the night. The main award winners follow - this Chinese-language article has the complete list.

Best Male Artist: Leehom Wang
Best Female Artist: Fish Leong
Favourite Male Artist: Jay Chou
Favourite Female Artist: Jolin Tsai
Most Popular Group: Super Junior-M
Newcomer of the Year: Han Geng
Annual Excellence Award: Kenji Wu (吴克群, pinyin: Wú Kèqún)
Best Stage Performance: Elva Hsiao (萧亚轩, pinyin: Xiāo Yǎxuān)
Album with the Longest Chart Run: Rashomon, by Show Luo
DJs' Favourite Artist of the Year: Jolin Tsai
Media Recommendation Award: Hebe Tien (田馥甄, pinyin: Tián Fūzhēn)
Outstanding Global Chinese Artist: Jay Chou
Best Band: Sodagreen
Best Group: S.H.E
Best Mandarin Album: The Era, by Jay Chou
Best Singer: JJ Lin
Best All-round Entertainer: Show Luo

Top 20 Songs (in no particular order)
  • It's Okay To Be Lonely (寂寞寂寞就好) - Hebe Tien
  • Not So Simple (没那么简单) - Tiger Huang (黄小琥)
  • The Opposite Me (相反的我) - Jing Chang (张芸京)
  • Once In A Lifetime (十年一刻) - Sodagreen
  • The Leading Role (爱的主场秀) - Show Luo
  • SHERO - S.H.E
  • Heartache On Your Heartache (心疼你的心疼) - Farenheit (飞轮海)
  • I Believe (我相信) - Jane Zhang (张靓颖)
  • It's Love (这,就是爱) - Jason Zhang (张杰)
  • What Love Songs Didn't Tell You (情歌没有告诉你) - Fish Leong
  • Play (玩乐) - Khalil Fong (方大同)
  • Meet You at the Next Crossing (下个,路口,见) - Li Yuchun (李宇春)
  • It Doesn't Matter (没关系) - Kenji Wu
  • Honey Trap (美人计) - Jolin Tsai
  • Say No - Han Geng
  • All The Things You Never Knew (你不知道的事) - Leehom Wang
  • Superman Can't Fly (超人不会飞) - Jay Chou
  • Hundred Days (第几个100天) - JJ Lin
  • Grandpa (爷爷) - Gary Chaw (曹格)
  • Wrong Person (错的人) - Elva Hsiao

No comments:

Post a Comment

Site Meter